INDUSTRY BRIEF – OASIS

 

Over the past semester I have been working on a portfolio-based industry brief based on designing a A/W18 collection for high-street fashion brand, ‘Oasis’. We had a choice to design either a childrenswear collection for ‘Next’, a garment construction-based collection for ‘M&S ‘, or a print-based collection for ‘Oasis’. After opting for construction in the previous Levi’s project, I decided that a colourful, vibrant print-based project was what appealed to me the most. The trend for the Oasis brief was being informed by the textiles of Josef Frank and the exhibition at the Fashion Textiles Museum, and as I had been recently working there, it was the perfect opportunity to gain primary research. ☂

18762591_10213351726367072_20763877_n

The Oasis Brief

014c28e833e254fbfa2229e91b4a6826

Josef Frank – Hawaii

For this brief I created a story for the collection  based on a mystical ‘Secret Garden’, taking inspiration from the magical, dark-background prints by Frank such as ‘Hawaii’. I designed a series of main and companion prints, drawing imagery from botanical field guides and bird books, as well as real-life observational paintings and sketches. I used these prints to design a collection of six outfits. I illustrated the collection in a fun, vibrant and maximalist style, adding in lots of print, frills and accessories.

✿ To view the final outcome of my OASIS project on Arts thread  CLICK HERE 

 

 

 

 

About darcieoliviaolley

I am currently studying a BA HONS in Fashion & Textiles at the Colchester School of Art. This blog is being used as a diary, to document my creative journey and record my responses throughout the course.

Leave a Reply

