GEORGIA O’KEEFFE

IMG_3061

The current Georgia O’Keeffe exhibition at the Tate Modern is a must-see.

Prior to visiting, I had little knowledge on O’Keeffe apart from being aware of her flower and skull paintings. This exhibition was one the best I have ever visited, simply because the paintings were so breathtaking and meaningful when seen in person, rather than through a screen or in a book. As well as the beautiful use of colour and composition in her paintings, I found the history and personality of Georgia O’Keeffe as an artist equally interesting. Her relationship with husband Alfred Stieglitz, documented through his own photography, added to the detailed story of the artist.

An artist who painted various subjects and matters, my favourite paintings were her landscapes, inspired by New Mexico scenery. In addition to these I was really taken back by ‘Jimson Weed’, the promotional painting used for the exhibition. Something about the accompanying description of the flower and the use of colour triggered an emotional response in my head.

My dream is to go to Abiquiu, New Mexico one day and  visit the home of Georgia O’Keeffe and her ‘Ghost Ranch’.  This video shows some of the inspiration and ideas behind her works:

keeffe

Ghost Ranch, Abiquiu

About darcieoliviaolley

I am currently studying a BA HONS in Fashion & Textiles at the Colchester School of Art. This blog is being used as a diary, to document my creative journey and record my responses throughout the course.

Leave a Reply

