PARIS ’16

Last week I joined my classmates on our first residential trip, to the city of Paris. It was a busy four days, the highlights for me being the Monet exhibition at the Musée de l’Orangerie, discovering my new favourite shop, ‘Colette’, and of course, visiting Première Vision.

The Musée de l’Orangerie-

The Musée de l’Orangerie sits in one corner of the Place de la Concorde. The former orangery of the Tuileries Palace is now an art gallery housing impressionist and post-impressionist paintings. Monet’s ‘Nymphéas’, commonly known as the ‘Water-lilies’, are exhibited here. I was taken aback by the sheer scale of the paintings, Monet’s work really does need to be seen in person for the beautiful colour palette to be truly appreciated. I was also delighted to see some works by one of my favourite artists, Henri Rousseau. I love his naïve but interesting style and the use of foliage and nature in his paintings. As well as Rousseau, I also enjoyed viewing art by Matisse, Picasso, Modigliani, Renoir and Cézanne. The peaceful surroundings of the Musée de l’Orangerie make a nice change from the hustle and bustle of The Louvre and is definitely worth a visit for any art lover.

 

Colette + Other Shops-

Visiting Colette had been highly anticipated on my wish list of ‘to-do’s ‘in Paris, and it defiantly didn’t disappoint.  I had been following them on Instagram for months and I couldn’t wait to experience the shop in person. I can only describe it as a high-end version of one of my favorite Danish stores, now with branches in the UK, ‘Tiger’.  Selling everything from toys to magazines, furniture to gadgets and top designer clothes and cosmetics. I picked up some poodle-themed souvenirs, and left with a strong desire to return soon! In addition to Colette, we visited a few other interesting places, one of them being ‘Kiliwatch’ a huge and brilliant vintage clothing store. This district of Paris in particular is home to lots of designer shops so I did some window-shopping, one of my favorite stores being Issey Miyake on Rue Royale. It was interesting to be able to see and experience the clothes first hand and see how they were being displayed.

 

Première Vision-

Premiere Vision is a huge event held in Paris in which designers and manufacturers across the fashion and textiles spectrum, come from all over the world to trade and network. It was a privilege to able to be amongst such an exciting and professional environment. It definatley gave me a taste of what the future could hold for me and its an amazing place to visit in order to make contacts and get your own work out there and seen. The event was split up in to sections such as fabrics, yarn, leather, accessories etc. One of the most relevant sections for me was ‘designs’, as it mainly contained textile designers exhibiting their prints, something which I am interesting in. I would definitely love to visit again next year and this time would be more prepared on what I wanted to gain from the experience. Other than being in this inspiring environment, one of the highlights for me was spotting the one and only Kanye West amongst the stands.As a true fan of his music, artistic views and himself in general, I couldn’t help but take a sneaky picture (photography was strictly forbidden!). He was browsing fabric for the next Yeezy collection and it was good to see the involvement he obviously has on his own fashion design.

About darcieoliviaolley

I am currently studying a BA HONS in Fashion & Textiles at the Colchester School of Art. This blog is being used as a diary, to document my creative journey and record my responses throughout the course.

Leave a Reply

