LECTURE: WWW.

Lecture: Social media and the internet and its relevance to art and design.

The internet is useful in a countless number of ways, promoting yourself through social media is just one of them.  Most people working within art and design based practices want to get their work to be out there in the big wide world, to be seen and experienced. Hearing from Mark De’ath, founder of the Creative Coop (an online based community and social enterprise collective) was very interesting, as so far on my degree journey, I hadn’t given much thought into how I will promote my work. Valuable advice on creating an online presence was shared, as well as an insight into the highs and lows of his career. Mark emphasised the importance of keeping your target audience in mind. As an artist/designer it is easy to get caught up in your own grand vision and loose track of how things might be perceived on the outside. For example he mentioned how the majority of internet browsing nowadays is done on smartphones, as opposed to laptops or computers, so when creating a website always have the mobile view as the priority.

I am using this blog (which you are reading) to document my work, but in addition to WordPress my most-used social networking sites are Pinterest and Instagram. I love the concept of being able to instantly create mood-boards on Pinterest and having endless amounts of inspiration at your fingertips. As well as Instagram, which is a visual, image-based platform. Facebook and Twitter in my opinion, more word-based and although I am mainly sharing my work on other sites, it is important to uphold a professional image across all platforms as I am not a believer in personal/professional accounts. Being somewhat of a perfectionist, I am often quite precious about showing people my unfinished work, but I know it is important to be more free in order to gain other peoples opinions, constructive criticism and advice.

Hopefully I will begin to share more of my progress as I go on, and respond to the different areas of my degree with the help of social media.

FIND ME ON: PINTEREST   INSTAGRAM

About darcieoliviaolley

I am currently studying a BA HONS in Fashion & Textiles at the Colchester School of Art. This blog is being used as a diary, to document my creative journey and record my responses throughout the course.

Leave a Reply

