TURNING 21 + ART SCHOOL 101

SEPTEMBER has always been the most significant month in the calendar to me. It’s a time of change and energy, summer has left and winter is slowly creeping its way in. Last month september gave to me my 21st birthday and the opportunity to start university, studying a BA HONS in Fashion and Textiles. To put it simply, I am so very happy! September hasn’t always been a positive time and I am proud of myself, for finally finding contentness and to be sitting here right now, writing my first ever blog entry. Things are looking up 🙂

So, as a newly enrolled art school student, the question at hand is; what is an ‘Art School’? (In response to Matthew Bowmans lecture).
The ‘art school’ in my opinion, is a connected network of students, teachers and observers. The school takes on the basic principles of any centre of education, learning, however the way in which students learn is different to that of any other subject.
Although an art school is essentially a place where art is taught, it is also a common opinion amongst artists, that art cannot be taught. This is an opinion that I agree with. I believe that natural talent and interest for art and design cannot be taught, the spark has to exist already, in order to build upon it. The role of the art school comes in to help teach new skills and inspire, not to teach passion. Students are constantly reminded that whatever work they produce cannot be ‘wrong’. This reassurance is hard to come by in the majority of other educational institutions, as exams and tests replace the freedom of producing art.
Matthew Bowmans lecture, ‘What Is an Art School?’ featured an interesting quote from Tobias Rehberger, an artist and teacher at the Städelschule in Frankfurt, a contemporary art school. He explains that students often have a self-assured attitude; “‘I’ve made it, I know what I’m doing’ when most of what they know is a very clichéd idea about being an artist and what an art school is and what they’re going to learn.”. So perhaps learning at an art school involves going ‘back to basics’ and looking at things from a new and exciting point of view.
I believe the art school is the stepping stone for an artist or designer to home in on all their talents and skills and simultaneously, broaden their artistic horizons.

About darcieoliviaolley

I am currently studying a BA HONS in Fashion & Textiles at the Colchester School of Art. This blog is being used as a diary, to document my creative journey and record my responses throughout the course.

Leave a Reply

